The Embassy Of The Republic Of Kenya in Kuwait



Kenya is bordered to the north by Sudan and Ethiopia, to the east by Somalia, to the west by Uganda, to the south by Tanzania, and to the southeast by the Indian Ocean. Much of the country, especially in the north and east, is arid or semi-arid. From the Indian Ocean the land rises gradually through dry bush to the fine arable land of the highlands.


Kenya covers an area of approximately 580,367 square kilometres and lies almost exactly astride the equator.


In the low-lying districts, particularly along the coast, the climate is tropical, hot and humid. On the Plateau and in the highlands the climate is more temperate. Western Kenya and most parts of Nyanza experience heavy conventional rain and have two rainy seasons, the long rains from April to June and the short rains from October to November. Kenya’s warm climate is favourable for tourism during the drier season that is between September and March.


According to the national population and housing census report of 2009, there are an estimated 38,610,097 Kenyans dispersed around the country. Currently, population is over 40 million people. In the semi arid north and northeast regions, population density hardly reaches 2 per sq km, whereas in the rich and fertile western, population density rises to 120 persons per sq km. In the well endowed Rift Valley, population density varies from one area to another with an average of 13 inhabitants per sq km.

Nearly 25% of the total is concentrated in the large cities of Nairobi, Mombasa and Kisumu including large towns such as Nakuru. Women account for 50.48% of the total population.

Ethnic Composition

Principal Commercial Cities and Towns

Nairobi is the capital city and a commercial center. It is situated 300 miles from the Coast and lies midway between the capitals of Uganda and Tanzania. It is the largest city in East Africa and houses two UN agencies, UNEP and Habitat.

Mombasa is Kenya’s main port and popular holiday city. It is situated on an island in a natural sheltered inlet. It is the only port that serves not only Kenya but land locked countries like Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi and Eastern Democratic Republic of Congo and Southern Sudan.

Kisumu is the Chief Port city on the shores of Lake Victoria. It serves Western Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania. Nakuru is an agricultural and industrial town in the Rift Valley basin. Eldoret lies on the main road and rail route to Uganda. It is mainly an agricultural town that serves wheat and maize farmers from the North Rift.

Structure of the Kenyan Government

The 2010 Constitution established the structure of the Kenyan Government.

The Government of Kenya consists of the Executive, the Legislature, the Judiciary and the Devolved Government.

The Executive

The President, the Deputy President and the Cabinet constitute the Executive arm of the Kenyan Government.

The President is the Head of State and Government, Commander-in-Chief of the Kenya Defence Forces, and the Chairperson of the National Security Council.

For further information on the President, please click on the following link

The Deputy President is the President's Principal Assistant.

For further information on the Deputy President, please go to the website:

The Parliament

Kenya's Parliament consists of two houses: the National Assembly and the Senate.

For further information on the Parliament, please click on the following link:

The Judiciary

The Judiciary is divided into Superior Courts and Subordinate Courts. The Superior Courts are: the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal and the High Court. The Supreme Court is the highest court in Kenya. The Subordinate Courts are: the Magistrates Courts, the Kadhi Courts, the Courts Martial and the Tribunals.

For further information on the Judiciary, please click on the following link:

The Devolved Government

The Kenyan Constitution established 47 Counties, each with its own Government. The County Governments consist of the County Assembly and the County Executive. The County Governor is the head of the County Executive.

The 47 Counties are as follows: Mombasa, Kwale, Kilifi, Tana River, Lamu, Taita-Taveta, Garissa, Wajir, Mandera, Marsabit, Isiolo, Meru, Tharaka-Nithi, Embu, Kitui, Machakos, Makueni, Nyandarua, Nyeri, Kirinyaga, Murang'a, Kiambu, Turkana, West Pokot, Samburu, Trans Nzoia, Uasin Gishu, Elgeyo-Marakwet, Nandi, Baringo, Laikipia, Nakuru, Narok, Kajiado, Kericho, Bomet, Kakamega, Vihiga, Bungoma, Busia, Siaya, Kisumu, Homabay, Migori, Kisii, Nyamira and Nairobi.